Author Topic: An Anecdote About Visual Acuity  (Read 3235 times)

Offline ZC

An Anecdote About Visual Acuity
« on: June 29, 2014, 04:04:34 PM »
When I was a high-school kid I read a blurb about Bates in the Whole Earth Catalog. I made a mental note and turned the page. My vision then was similar to my vision now: -5.0 / -6.5.

After I graduated college, I traveled across North America in the summer. Early in the summer I lost the glasses that I used every day when I was on an inner in a river in Iowa. A month later I lost my spare pair of glasses when I was backpacking in the Canadian Rockies. I was hopping across rocks to cross a stream and the glasses fell off my sweaty face into the stream and over a waterfall.

I was an experienced backpacker at the time and had a trusted friend with me, so I continued my camping trip without my glasses. Once we completed the journey and got back to our car, we drove to Victoria, on Vancouver Island where I went to an optometrist, who measured my vision and made me some new glasses. This was way before there were cell phones or personal computers, so I had no idea how the prescription for these new glasses compared to the glasses I had been wearing.

From Vancouver Island we went to Chicago, where I started a new job as an inspector in a machine shop. There was some near work but not a ton of it. Mostly I walked along the factory floor and measured the dimensions of metal parts. Back then there were no computer monitors. I did read a bit when I was not working but I was not spending many continuous hours doing near work each day.