Author Topic: Video and slides from my talk on myopia at the Ancestral Health Symposium  (Read 10037 times)

Offline Todd Becker

• Administrator
« Last Edit: August 12, 2014, 08:15:00 AM by Todd Becker »

Offline Arachne

Hi Todd,

Those slides are an excellent and useful summary of what we know about myopia and how to reverse it. It is hard to describe a somewhat difficult (not to say controversial) concept in a succinct and convincing way, and you have achieved that. I hope your talk was well received. Many thanks for the link to my blog in the References, by the way! :)

Offline ZC

Todd,

Great job! I no of no other resource that explains our current knowledge of myopia rehabilitation so lucidly and completely. Thanks.

I see others are posting youtube videos of their presentations at the AHS. Will you be doing that?

Offline Todd Becker

• Administrator

Offline Todd Becker

• Administrator
There is a risk that complete beginners deem plus lenses The Holy Grail of therapy, which by now most advanced practitioners understand are not enough, and maybe even irrelevant to improvement except for setting up the right working distance. I hope in future talks you put emphasis on the cognitive (attentional) aspect of focusing, which probably is much more important than waiting for vision to improve by passively/mindlessly pushing print with plus lenses. I know you are well aware of that, but without explicit pointers, beginners can easily get the wrong idea that it's the distance/defocus that leads to improvement instead of working consciously to clear up the blur -- I made this mistake myself.

Did you recommend to the audience to only push/pull the observed text or did you want them to also carefully pay attention to the text features so they could consciously resolve the blur?

Hi Jim,