Author Topic: Eliminating myopia  (Read 6950 times)

Offline HansK

Eliminating myopia
« on: October 18, 2014, 05:58:41 PM »
-deleted-
« Last Edit: June 24, 2019, 09:48:17 AM by HansK »

Offline OtisBrown

Re: Eliminating myopia
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2014, 06:10:36 PM »
Hi Hans,

A prescription of -1.0 to -1.25 diopters - is what Todd had. If you checked your own Snellen at home, you would be reading about the 20/40 line, or 6/12 line.  I personally believe in checking myself -since I am an engineer, and know how to do it.  Further, you will believe in your own improvement (objectively) if you do this measurement yourself.   Here are two charts you can use to do this checking.  Down-load this one.

http://www.i-see.org/block_letter_eye_chart.pdf

Or click here for an electronic Snellen.  Just find and press "display" several times for the letters.

http://www.smbs.buffalo.edu/oph/ped/IVAC/IVAC.html

Reading half the letters passes the line. Use that as the standard for your reporting.  Using the "plus" as Todd did it, is a slow process.  It means you only use a "minus" when necessary, and choose a comfortable "reading glass" for close work.

Since you are 18 years old, and I would presume going though six more years of school, I would add that the proven rate at which your eyes will go down is -1/2 diopter per year - for each year in school.  This would mean you will add about -3 dioipters to your current refraction.  ( I will supply the proof for this is you are interested. )

But Todd will give you the best advice possible.

Personally I think Ortho-K is very expensive ($1,500 per year), and does not produce naked-eye recovery.  Properly understood and conducted - prevention with a plus simply does not cost very much.  But you must have the personal resolve to do it.

Hello,

I am from Germany. I am 18 years old and I am myopic since 2010.

Left eye: -1.00 to -1.25
Right eye: -1.50