Author Topic: Is vision mental or physical  (Read 1058 times)

Offline gekonus

Is vision mental or physical
« on: March 30, 2015, 09:38:23 AM »
Is it possible that improving the vision is more of a mental skill? (gotta be relaxed, calm) or is it more of a physical skill (print pushing)..

people succeeded from both sides I guess, Im speakin for myself and for the other really good guys here that cant improve no matter what

Offline OtisBrown

Re: Is vision mental or physical
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2015, 11:14:16 AM »
Hi Gekonus,

I always agree there are "two ways" to look at a problem.  As an engineer, I am always objective in measuring both my refraction and visual acuity.

But equally, I know people who use both "exercise" and the plus, and VERY SLOWLY get back to OBJECTIVE 20/25 to 20/20 (always self-measured).

This is absolutly not a "mental skill", it is me being objective in reading my own Snellen at 20 feet.  You can not get more objective than that.  If there were
a "mental skill", it would be my recognition, that the natural eye is dynamic (as science), and I have no choice but to "do it myself".

It is equally true, that some people will wearing the plus correctly, and slowly get to the 20/25 range -- while the next person, seemingly doing the
same thing - does not objective "see" this result.

There is indeed no, "perfect way".  For me, I see continued wearing of a strong plus as being necessary though the school years.  (I know
few people will accept that fact - as a total necessity.)

But all of this it because I accept that as necessary.  I am not a critic of anyone.  For me, long-term plus-wear is necessary, as long as I
am doing any "close work".

This is why I am wearing a +2.5 diopter lens, as I type this message to you.

Is it possible that improving the vision is more of a mental skill? (gotta be relaxed, calm) or is it more of a physical skill (print pushing)..