Author Topic: Mercurial's vision efforts  (Read 4795 times)

Offline Mercurial

Mercurial's vision efforts
« on: September 30, 2011, 11:28:07 PM »
Hello all,

I've been adopting a number of Todd's suggestions as experiments.  Many of them have turned out marvelously for me.  Intermittent fasting is the most marked, I think; I've been doing that for about two months now and I love it!  It wiped out my chronic fatigue and helped me to sleep better, it freed me from any relationship between time and meals, it dropped a lot of inflammation, it got me from an okay body weight to a pretty much perfect one (a 20-pound difference), and it has this promise of longevity that's at least as good as calorie restriction.  I'm quite pleased!

I did cold showers for a few weeks, but I had to quit those because of my eczema.  My hands started blistering and cracking too much from too frequent exposure to water.  Gloves helped only to a small degree.  I also started getting really cold more and more often.  This was from before intermittent fasting, so I really don't know what to make of it.  I'll experiment with it again after I've gotten at least one more set of blood work done at the lab to check that the intermittent fasting isn't depleting anything important.

I've also been doing the slow-cadence weight-lifting with the inverted pyramid.  I'd love to do interval training but I have an injury in my ankles that I've been trying to address first.  I think I'm finally ready to start doing interval training on a bicycle, and then I'll push that up to running after my ankles are strong enough.