Author Topic: Incredible Optical Knowldge Incompetence of an OD.  (Read 5765 times)

Offline OtisBrown

Incredible Optical Knowldge Incompetence of an OD.
« on: October 01, 2011, 01:27:18 PM »
Subject: I am an engineer, and have good knowledge of "ray trace" analysis and image formation.

I expect the same skills in an OD.  Here an OD "explains" why "squint" will clear your Snellen by about  one diopter.

It will, but not by the type of drawing presented by this OD.  Parallel rays of light pass through an optical serface, (in this case the cornea), and an image is formed at the point of convergence.  (Any competent engineer can confirm this analysis, and the essential physics of optics).

Now in this drawing, he shows the "convergence" point to be in the lens of the eye!!  That, in optics is where the image will form.

I truly wonder how a man can go through four years of "optometry college" -- and not get this right!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yux69ryP67Y&NR=1

You can not have a "technical argument" -- unless the person has optical competence.  Tragically, this man does not have it.

Now, I just check my refractive status myself, and if necessary, I would get a plus or minus lens based on my judgment (consistent with passing the DMV), and never deal with these people ever again.

Otis

Offline OtisBrown

Re: Incredible Optical Knowldge Incompetence of an OD.
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2011, 09:13:07 AM »
Subject:  Why I don't "bash" ODs -- and thank the second-opinion ODs for their courage.
What I regret -- and resent -- are then endless attacks on me personally, because I advocate a "new approach" towards prevention.
There are some ODs who have been able to look THROUGH THE PROBLEM, and see that prevention (at 20/50, and 1.0 diopter) would be possible, if the person himself could "get the idea", and teach himself (preventive optometry).  I would be glad to work WITH an OD on this issue, and WITH an OD like Soon See.