Author Topic: Why isn't hormesis more popular?  (Read 5340 times)

Offline Nate

Why isn't hormesis more popular?
« on: September 19, 2012, 07:54:13 AM »
I think there are 3 barriers to hormesis really taking off in the medical field.

1.  Reimbursement doesn't support it (meaning it doesn't fit the current business model of medicine-and I don't expect that to change as medicine becomes more socialized.

2.  Patients don't expect it.

3.  Patients often times don't want it.  Currently I am a pathologist, which means that I don't treat patients at all, so this is somewhat academic.  But previously, I was a family doctor.  Although I wasn't aware of all the aspects of hormesis that you have brought out, I did know that type 2 diabetes could be quite effectively treated with aggressive modification of diet and exercise.  But very few of my patients would actually do it (I can't actually think of any).  Also, since starting this eye therapy program, I have told many people about it.  Lots have told me that they think it is great, but very few have tried it themselves.  Most say that they just aren't disciplined enough.  Contact lenses are an instantaneous and fairly good solution, and most people seem happy with that-after all, they did work for me for about 30 years.

I do think you have some great insights, though.  I've tried the cold showers and some intermittent fasting-they work.  I have recommended the cold showers to several people going through emotional problems-and it really has helped them.  If you ever do get around to writing book I'd like to help you with it.

I did read "The Brain that Changes Itself"-on your recommendation.  Quite a good book.