Author Topic: Low Carb vs. Intermittent Fasting -- or both?  (Read 25672 times)

Offline jared33

Low Carb vs. Intermittent Fasting -- or both?
« on: November 27, 2010, 11:45:24 AM »
I've been practicing IF, fast-5 style for many months now and I like it quite well.  I eat either lunch and and early dinner, or I shift this later if I know I'm going out for dinner or want to eat later.

I posted an article earlier about what happens to glucose, fat, ketones and insulin levels when you start fasting, and the discussion suggests that the pattern is quite similar in some ways to low carb, except that with low carb you are supplying amino acids from the protein in your diet that can be used to make fresh glucose (gluconeogenesis).  Here it is again: http://www.medbio.info/Horn/Time%203-4/homeostasis1.htm

My question to the readers of this forum is whether IF has similar benefits to low carb, and which one you prefer. They both seem to reduce insulin levels and insulin resistance, from what I've read.  But the pattern of eating is quite different.

Or maybe you combine them.  I'm interested in what everyone is doing.  I've not been really into low carb, but I have no problem with it and I might try to combine the two if it makes sense.   

Offline Micheal Jackson

Re: Low Carb vs. Intermittent Fasting -- or both?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 02:13:26 AM »
combination of both is good .
have a diet plan and stick to it .

Offline Ari

« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2010, 07:16:46 AM »