Author Topic: My Myopia/Astigmatism Journey  (Read 18595 times)

Offline warnbd

My Myopia/Astigmatism Journey
« on: April 08, 2014, 06:16:36 AM »
Hello All,
After studying this forum and others (PVS, Fraunfeld), I am excited to chronicle my rehabilitation and I have made progress already since Jan. 7, 2014.  This should be an interesting process, given that I have significant myopia and astigmatism. 
My history is that I started wearing glasses when I was about 11 years old and I am now 55.  As an engineer, I have done a lot of close eye work many hours a day over decades.  The results are sizeable myopia and astigmatism.

As of early Jan.:   Left:  -4.75 sph, +2.75 cyl  and Right: -3.50 sph, +1.75 cyl. (starting point)

I started the push focusing using reading glasses in front of my full correction glasses.  After a couple weeks, I ordered my first zennioptical set of glasses.  For distance, I am undercorrecting by .50 diopter(sph), and for reading 1.50 diopter undercorrection.
For the cylinder component, I undercorrected only by .50 diopter(to keep from being too blurry when focus pushing training).  I am also sporatically doing PVS exercises.

As of April 4, approx. 10 weeks of rehab., my status to achieve Snellen chart 20/20 is:

Left:  -4.00 sph, +2.25 cyl,  and Right:  -2.75 sph, +1.25 cyl. (.75 diopter spherical improvement and .25/.50 cyl. improvement)

Per Otis’s recommendations in this forum, I also purchased various test lenses to help do self optical measurements.   I have just ordered my second set of Zennioptical glasses with similar undercorrections as first set, but only .25 cylindrical further change.
Please feel free to post comments/suggestions to help with this myopia and astigmatism combination.  I am hoping to get to 20/40 status by the end of this year, based on some of the testimonials in this forum.  Thanks to Todd and other contributors here for sharing this amazing knowledge to change one's eyesight contrary to " conventional" protocol.